Governance

pic_leadership board Jan 12 2017

Highlands is led by a small group of thoughtful people who form the Leadership Board.

2016-17 Leadership Board

Co-Chairs: Susan Hogman and Janet Warren
Members:
Back Row: Stephen Molnar, David Boal, Sandi Parker (ex-officio), Tanis van Drimmilen, Ardis Nelson, Michael Soderling, Rev. Will Sparks (ex-officio) and David Keir,
Front Row: Marie Rice, Wendy McNaughton, Susan Hogman and Janet Warren

You can contact the Leadership Board by emailing Janet Warren or Susan Hogman.

Board of Trustees

  • Peter Ackhurst
  • Judy Anderson
  • Bill Denault (Chair)
  • John Haley
  • Joan Kosick
  • Al Lill

The Board of Trustees are the principal custodians of all of the property and facilities for the use and benefit of the Highlands church congregation. The activities of the Trustees are restricted and governed variously by Public Statute, the United Church’s Trusts of Model Deed, and the lawful directions of the Official Board or Church Board and other Courts of the United Church having jurisdiction.

Staff and Lay Leadership

Lead Minister                                    Rev. Will Sparks will.sparks at highlandsunited.org
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 25

Ministry Development                                    Sandi Parker sandi.parker at highlandsunited.org
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 25

Minister for Seniors and Hospitality                    Colleen Blair colleen.blair at highlandsunited.org
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 27

Coordinator for Children, Youth and Young Adults        Andria Irwin cyaya at highlandsunited.org
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 24

Coordinator for Children, Youth and Young Adults        Allie Keir cyaya at highlandsunited.org
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 24

Administrator                                                   Carol Smith churchoffice at highlandsunited.org
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 21

Administrative Assistant                             Tatina Lee tatina.lee at highlandsunited.org
Tel. (604) 980.6071 ext.22

Lay Worship Leader                                        Ken Irwin ken.irwin at highlandsunited.org

Minister Emeritus                                            Rev. Bob Shank

Music Ministry

Music Coordinator
Geordie Roberts geordie.roberts at highlandsunited.org

Choir Directors
Gillian Irwin, Spirit Singers gill.irwin at highlandsunited.org

Geordie Roberts, Genesis Too Youth Choir geordie.roberts at highlandsunited.org

Jeannie Denault, God’s Free Spirits jeannie.denault at highlandsunited.org

Roz Hollett, Bell Choir

Accompanists
Geordie Roberts and Jeannie Denault

Standing Committees

Highlands has three standing committees that care for the daily and weekly work of the church.

Worship

  • Tanis van Drimmelen, Chair
  • Rev. Will Sparks (ex officio)
  • Colleen Blair
  • Cullene Bryant
  • Joy Dancey
  • Ken Irwin
  • Gillian Irwin
  • Sandi Parker
  • Geordie Roberts

Finance

  • David Boal, Chair
  • Cameron Forde
  • Scott Hughes
  • Ed Hunt
  • Doug Margerm, Treasurer
  • Rev. Will Sparks (ex officio)

Ministry and Personnel

  • Ardis Nelson, Chair
  • Janie Ackhurst
  • Diana Bomford
  • Kathleen Whyte
  • Rev. Will Sparks (ex officio)

But Highlands is also a church that encourages people to take initiative, to fulfill needs as they see them, rather than seek permission. Small Group Ministry, a key part of Highlands’ Five-Year planning, refers to small congregational groups, usually three to seven participants, that agree to meet for a specific length of time around a shared interest.