pic_leadership board Jan 12 2017

Highlands is led by a small group of thoughtful people who form the Leadership Board.

2016-17 Leadership Board

Up to 10 members of the Congregation are elected to form the Leadership Board. They represent the Congregation, meet monthly except for July, and have the responsibility to set out goals and vision for the Congregation. Most Leadership Board members serve two-year terms.

Co-Chairs: Susan Hogman and Janet Warren
Back Row: Stephen Molnar, David Boal, Sandi Parker (ex-officio), Tanis van Drimmilen, Ardis Nelson, Michael Soderling, Rev. Will Sparks (ex-officio) and David Keir,
Front Row: Marie Rice, Wendy McNaughton, Susan Hogman and Janet Warren

You can contact the Leadership Board by emailing Janet Warren or Susan Hogman.

Board of Trustees

  • Peter Ackhurst
  • Judy Anderson
  • Bill Denault (Chair)
  • John Haley
  • Joan Kosick
  • Al Lill

The Board of Trustees are the principal custodians of all of the property and facilities for the use and benefit of the Highlands church congregation. The activities of the Trustees are restricted and governed variously by Public Statute, the United Church’s Trusts of Model Deed, and the lawful directions of the Official Board or Church Board and other Courts of the United Church having jurisdiction.

Staff and Lay Leadership

Lead Minister                                    Rev. Will Sparks will.sparks at
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 25

Minister for Community Development                Sandi Parker sandi.parker at
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 25

Minister for Seniors and Hospitality                    Colleen Blair colleen.blair at
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 27

Minister for Children, Youth and Families          Allie Keir cyaya at
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 24

Administrator                                                   Carol Smith churchoffice at
Tel. (604) 980-6071 ext. 21

Administrative Assistant                             Tatina Lee tatina.lee at
Tel. (604) 980.6071 ext.22

Lay Worship Leader                                        Ken Irwin ken.irwin at

Minister Emeritus                                           Rev. Bob Shank

Music Ministry

Music Coordinator
Geordie Roberts geordie.roberts at

Choir Directors
Gillian Irwin, Spirit Singers gill.irwin at

Geordie Roberts, Genesis Too Youth Choir geordie.roberts at

(position open), God’s Free Spirits

Roz Hollett, Bell Choir

Geordie Roberts and Roz Hollett

Standing Committees

Highlands has three standing committees that care for the daily and weekly work of the church. The Chairs of these standing committees are elected by the Congregation.


  • Tanis van Drimmelen, Chair
  • Rev. Will Sparks (ex officio)
  • Colleen Blair
  • Joy Dancey
  • Allie Keir
  • Ken Irwin
  • Gillian Irwin
  • Sandi Parker
  • Geordie Roberts


  • David Boal, Chair
  • Cameron Forde
  • Scott Hughes
  • Ed Hunt
  • Doug Margerm, Treasurer
  • Rev. Will Sparks (ex officio)

Ministry and Personnel

  • Craig Madill, Chair
  • Betty Chapin
  • Ardis Nelson
  • Diana Bomford
  • Kathleen Whyte
  • Rev. Will Sparks (ex officio)

Highlands is a church that encourages people to take initiative, to fulfill needs as they see them, rather than seek permission. Small Group Ministry, a key part of Highlands Five-Year planning, refers to small congregational groups, usually three to seven participants, who agree to meet for a specific length of time around a shared interest.